SA Branch News

Message from the Branch President, Warren Symonds


Welcome back to Term 2

I like to welcome you back to the start of Term 2, and I hope you managed to have a relaxing holiday.

2022 ACEL SA State Awards

Being optimistic and reflecting on the achievements during the most challenging term that most of us have ever experienced, it was amazing how our leaders and staff approached the increased workloads and covered increased staff absences. An area I'm incredibly proud of is how our ACEL members took the time to acknowledge the outstanding work of our Educational leaders, and we received a record number of nominations for our ACEL SA Awards. The high calibre of the nominations made it very difficult for the awards committee to identify our winners.

Our 2022 ACEL SA State awards winners are:

'Alby Jones' Gold Medal Award:

Rick Persse and Luke Thomson

ACEL Educational Leadership Medal:

Craig Fielke, Rowena Fox, David Joliffe, Nichii Mardon, Anne Millard, Ruth Mussger and Deonne Smith

South Australian Fellowship Award:

David Dewar and Dr Paul Rijken

Pip Field Emerging Leaders Award:

Janet Coomber and Jess Moroney

Distinguished Contribution to Research in Educational Leadership Award:

Dr Andrew Bills

ACEL SA Media Award:

Jules Schiller

We will celebrate our award winners at a cocktail function at the Adelaide Zoo Sanctuary on Wednesday, 29 June. More information about the Award evening will be distributed later, and it would be great to see as many ACEL members celebrate our awards. Click here to register online.

Term 2 Hot Topic:
It's Time to Act, and It's Time to Reflect by Dr Andrew Bills and Nigel Howard, Wednesday, 25 May, starting at 5.30 pm (Online). You can find more information here.

Local & Online Events

25 May 2022
Online Event

29 June 2022
Sanctuary Adelaide Zoo

18 August 2022
Online Event

National Events