ACEL 2017 WA Awards

Over 80 members, including past awardees and 20 Fellows, gathered on 16th May at the Bendat Parent & Community Centre in Wembley to honour and pay tribute to outstanding educators from across the government, Catholic and independent school, vocational education and university sectors in WA.

The prestigious and highly sought after 2017 ACEL WA awards were presented by the Hon Samantha Helen Rowe MLC Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education and Training, who commenced the proceedings with a short but powerful speech about the importance of leadership.

The importance of these awards is not to be under estimated, as captured by one awardee who said, “While I felt humbled by ACEL WA’s acknowledgment, the award has further energised me in the development and empowerment of the wonderful community in which I lead. I valued the networking opportunities that presented and will be certain to engage with other colleagues that I met and was introduced to last night.”

Individually and collectively ACEL WA members make a significant difference to educational policy and practice and will continue to recognise the outstanding efforts of those who work assiduously to ensure the interests of our society is served by access to high quality education at all levels, at all times.

ACEL WA Awards: History

Award for Excellence and Leadership in Tertiary Studies

This award is made available each year to the most outstanding post-graduate student in Education (Leadership) studies at the University of Western Australia (UWA) and Edith Cowan University (ECU).

2018  Megan Hamel, Jonathan Lituri
Kasthuri (Geetha) James, Kristen Nairn
Skye Hegarty, Marija Rizmanoska
James Trimble
  Johanna Mulder
2013  Bronwyn Jones
2012  Chez Greig
2011  Dr Melanie Hindley

Teacher Leader Award for Excellence

2018  Melissa Kingston, Keith Briggs, Jackie Hunt, Suzanne Bushby
Sandra Dias, Rachael Lehr
Vicki Tennant, Kris Williams
Elizabeth Elphick, Simone Sawiris
  Sherry Egan

Pre-Eminent Educational Leader Award

This award is presented to an outstanding leader who has made an exceptional contribution to education in WA. The award acknowledges an influential and inspiring leader who has a record of exceptional achievement in educational leadership. Successful awardees are recognized throughout the education and wider community. They have made outstanding contributions to the study and practice of educational leadership at state and national levels and have advocated for social justice, equity, democracy and human rights.

2018  Dr Sandy Heldsinger
  Lee Musumeci
Professor Jonathan Carapetis
Annie Fogarty
  Audrey Jackson AM
2013  Winthrop Professor Bill Louden
2012  Ron Dullard

Research in Educational Leadership and Management

2018  Deborah Netolicky
Shane Glasson

ACEL WA Branch Educational Leaders Learning Award - For Beginning and Emerging Leaders - Honorary

2012  Louise Donovan, Alex Hunter

ACEL WA Branch Inspiring Educator Award - Honorary

2012  Peter Mulcahy

ACEL WA Branch Scholarship in Educational Leadership and Management

2012  Dr Neil McNeill

Leadership Award

This award is presented each year to an educator or group of educators who have demonstrated excellent leadership in implementing an educational initiative, conducting research and/or influencing educational policy leading to improved educational outcomes for students in any educational setting. The award is aimed at all levels of leadership be it classroom, faculty, school, tertiary, system or consultancy.

Gary Racey
John Burke
Paul Whitehead
Maree Whiteley
Katie Petchell
Candice Clynk

Jason Bartell
Doug Cook
Russell Hahn
Dr Lorraine Hammond
Trevor Lynch
Everal Miocevich
Edward Nastasi
Damian Shuttleworth
Cheryl Townsend
Grant Wheatley

Jeff Allen
Richard Barr
Julie Anne Beelitz
Natalie Dennis
Wendy Gorman
Melanie Hancock
Nathan Harvey
Andrew Host
Lisa Ledger
Karmela Messineo
Karen Tucknott


Gary Anderson
David Bean
Bernard Beatty
Anika Blackmore
Dean Finlay
Veronica Forrest
Paul Hille
Geoff Miller
Veronica Sutton
Stephen Webber

Chris Booth
Julie Carlson
Karen Duncan
Anne Ford
Gayle Higgins
Neil Hunt
The Reverend Peter Laurence
Garth Wynne

Marie Beardsell
Tracey Gray
Sandy Heldsinger
Nancy Mcnally
Frank Pansini
Julian Vinciullo

Ron Gorman
Dr Jenny Kuhn
Dr Graeme Lock
Matt Osborne
Mitchell Mckay
Jacqui Quartermaine


This award recognises members of ACEL who are making or have made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of student achievement and organisational effectiveness through their leadership.

*Denotes National Fellowship

Gayle Higgins
Julie Woodhouse

Dr Shane Glasson
David Lee
Frank Pansini

Tony Beswick*
Peter Bothe
Sheri Evans
Greg Sullivan


Ian Elder
Jenny Firth
Ron Gorman
Professor Michael O’Neill*

Ray Boyd
Mary Margetts
Peter Mulcahy
Keith Newton
Peter Mulcahy
Keith Newton

Professor Simon Clarke

Ian Anderson
Lis Turner

ACEL Fellowships (Honorary)

An ACEL Fellowship (Honorary) may be conferred on persons who are not ACEL members, but who are acknowledged as outstanding leaders in the practice and/or theory of educational leadership. The criteria are similar to an ACEL Fellowship with the nominee being expected to have made a significant contribution to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes.

2017  Alan Genoni, Tony Watson
2016  Nicole Hanna, Abdullah Khan, Darrel LeMercier
2015  Stephen Breen, David Stevens, Carol Strauss, Edith Wright
2014  Janette Gee, Michael Morgan, Jacqui Quartermaine
2013  Allan Blagaich, Leonie Clelland, Paul Mathews, Dr Paul Swan
2012  Lee Musumeci, Jean Rice