South Australia Branch

ACEL SA Awards: History

The Alby Jones Gold Medal Award

2022  Rick Persse and Luke Thomson
2021  Jane Danvers
2020  Simon Murray OAM
2019  Professor Faye McCallum
2018  Professor Martin Westwell
2017  Professor David Giles
2016  Professor John Halsey
2015  Dr. Gerald White
2014  Dr Paul Kilvert
2013  Leonie Trimper

The ACEL SA Distinguished Contribution to Research in Educational Leadership Award

This Award is an acknowledgement of the significant contribution of a researcher in creating new work or use existing work in creative ways to generate tools in and encourage dialogue for critical thinking by practitioners, about, or related to the practice of leading in schooling or other educational contexts.

2022  Dr Andrew Bills
2021  Associate Professor Kerry Bissaker
2020  Associate Professor Mathew White, Emeritus Professor Kay Whitehead
2019  Associate Professor Anna Sullivan
2018  Professor Barbara Comber, Professor Irabinna Rigney, Dr Jane Jarvis, Dr Margaret Secombe
2017  Professor Pat Thomson
2016  Associate Professor Rob Hattam

The ACEL SA Educational Leadership Medal

The criteria for this award are consistent with those described in the ACEL Leadership Capabilities, acknowledging those who have demonstrated a commitment beyond their current role. Capabilities include high-level educational outcomes for self and others, and the ability to inspire, influence, and implement change in an innovative manner. Those receiving this award are acknowledged by their colleagues, students, and community for their outstanding leadership and achievements for a school, sector or system.

2022  Craig Fielke, Rowena Fox, David Joliffe, Nichii Mardon, Anne Millard, Ruth Mussger and Deonne Smith
2021  Dr Neil McGoran, Sister Jillian Havey AM, Kim Brady, Angela Falkenberg, Rebecca Clarke
2020  Karen Fitzpatrick, Peter Mader, Deb Merrett
2019  Martin Lippett, The Heysen Partnership, The Salisbury East Alternative Learning Program
2018  Robert Hoff, Lia Tedesco, Mark Porter, Bradley Fenner
2017  Carl Salt, Warren Symonds, Dr Matthew White
2016  Marilyn Clark, David Edwards, Christine Hatzi, Wendy Johnson, Panayoula Parha
2015  Kim Hebenstreit, Sandy Richardson, Sheryle Yorston
2014  Barry Kahl, Pam McRobbie
2013  Gary Le Duff, Paul Rijken, Michael Dahl

The ACEL SA Pip Field Emerging Leader Award

2022  Janet Coomber and Jess Moroney
2020  Martyn Anderson, Patrick Harmer, Rebecca Baker
2019  Penny Collins, Jules Peck
2018  Jon Gelsthorpe
2016  Olivia English, Rebecca Huddy

The ACEL SA Media Award

This award acknowledges a journalist who has reported on an educational matter in a published forum at a local or national level. The journalist has advocated for educators, celebrated their work, and recognized the positive contribution that education makes to society.

2022  Jules Schiller
2020  Tim Williams, Rob Johnson
2019  The Media Centre for Education Research Australia
2017  Spence Denny
2016  Martina Simos
2014  Annabel Crabb
2013  Peter Goers

Educational Leaders Learning Award

2014  Todd Murfitt
2013  Alice Gill

The South Australian Fellowship Award

2022  David Dewar and Dr Paul Rijken
2021  Kerry White, Alice Dunlop, Kevin Richardson
2020  Meredith Edwards OAM
2019  Robert Sieben, Jenny Stanley
2018  Dr Brendan Bentley, Greg Petherick 2017  Dr Lynda MacLeod, Simon Murray