Queensland Branch

Australian Council for Educational Leaders Queensland Branch (ACELQ) honours educational leaders who, in the view of their colleagues, have made a significant contribution to the understanding and practices of the teaching profession and educational leadership.

Congratulations to our 2023 Award Recipients

The Miller-Grassie Award for Outstanding Leadership in Education
• Jacinda Euler Welsh – Principal – Brisbane Girls Grammar School

ACEL QLD Fellowship
• Elizabeth Foster – Executive Principal – Wavell State High School

The Excellence in Educational Leadership Award
• Sherril Butterworth – Executive Director, Anglican Schools Commission
• Paul Clegg – Executive Officer – Independent Primary Schools Heads Australia
• Deb Evans – Consultant – Adolescent Success
• Christopher Lassig – Assistant Director – General School & Region Reviews, Department of Education QLD
• Sharon Schimming – Associate Director General, Department of Education QLD

The Research in Educational Leadership and Management Award (University nominated award)
• Jennifer Achari - Queensland University of Technology
• Katie Biggin – University of Queensland
• Joanne Casey – University of the Sunshine Coast
• Vicki Farwell – University of Southern Queensland
• Rebecca Maxwell – Australian Catholic University

The Inspiring Educator Award
• Ian Burgess – Head of Department, Humanities - Ormiston College

The Emerging Educational Leadership Award
• Jane Martens – Leader of Digital Pedagogy and Innovation - Mount Alvernia College

The Indigenous Leadership Award
• Tammy Baart – Consultant – Flip Learning and Blak Ignited

The Pivotal People Leadership Award
• Katie Bryant – Teacher/Early Years Literacy Curriculum Leader – St Peters Lutheran College
• Susan Garson – Director of Centre of School-Wide Pedagogy - Brisbane Girls Grammar
• Ormiston College Leadership Team – Amanda Turner, Holly Photiou, Danielle Askin, Jemma Trendler – Ormiston College

Media Award
• Sarah Kanowski – ABC Radio
• Jessica Schwilk – Queensland College of Teachers

The Educational Leadership Commendation Award
• Theresa Bourke – Associate Professor – Queensland University of Technology
• Karen Caswell – Teacher – Berrinba State School
• Joe Wright – Principal – Fraser Coast Anglican College
• Jacqui Zervos – Executive Director Educational Innovation – Brisbane Grammar School

Recipients are presented with awards at the ACELQ Awards Celebration function amongst colleagues, family and friends.

Date: Tuesday 22 August 2023
Time: 5:00pm - 8:30pm
Venue: Wavell State High School, 64 Brae Street, Wavell Heights
Click here to register online