This award is presented annually to those whose general excellence in educational administration and whose learning, experience and contribution to the Council have earned lasting respect and gratitude. With its origins in the Ndjebbana language of Central Arnhemland in the Northern Territory of Australia, the term Nganakarrawa (pronounced nana-ga-raa-wa) refers to “those who move about, all seeing, all knowing, knowledgeable and well regarded”.

2023 Dr Toni Meath VIC
2022 Kevin Richardson
2020 Professor Yong Zhao US
2019 Karen Spiller QLD
2018 Bruce Armstrong VIC
2017 Emeritus Professor Linda Darling-Hammond
2016 Emeritus Professor Patrick Griffin NSW
2015 Michael Gaffney ACT
2014 Ken Avenell QLD
2013 Norm Hunter QLD
2012 Dorothy Andrews QLD
2011 Neil Dempster QLD
2010 Br Kelvin Canavan NSW
2009 Neil Cranston QLD
2008 Anthony Mackay VIC
2007 Stephen Brown VIC
2006 Narottam Bhindi NSW
2005 Neville Highett SA
2004 Sylvia Walton VIC
2003 Neil Keith Money QLD
2002 Patrick Augustine Duignan NSW