In 2021 ACEL celebrates its impressive 36th year since the original inception where the first Gold Medal were originally awarded to Victoria’s Robert Fordham and Western Australia’s Edwin Harold. Since their inception, the ACEL national awards have grown in stature with educators being recognised for their contributions across several categories.. We also recognise media organisations/journalists/programs that contribute significantly to raising the profile of the education sector and make valuable contributions to the national conversation via “The ACEL National Media Award’.

Our National Awards honours educational leaders who have dedicated themselves to the improvement of student and educational outcomes.

View our ACEL national awards winners for 2021 below.

ACEL Gold Medal Award
Most Outstanding Contribution to the study and practice of educational administration and leadership.

Patrea Walton

ACEL Hedley Beare Award for Educational Writing
This award aims to promote quality writing by educators about educational leadership

Pasi Sahlberg

ACEL Fellowships
Outstanding contribution to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes.

Alice Dunlop
Frank Malloy
Dr Peter Goss
Phillip Moulds

ACEL Leadership Award
Excellent educational leadership in developing and implementing a significant educational initiative, conducting research or influencing educational policy.

Neil McGoran
Christopher Smyth
Angela Falkenberg
Kerry White
Michael Newman