"If you had a magic wand ..."

The Australian Council for Educational Leaders is proud to present the 2020 New Voice Perspectives, celebrating 15 leaders recognised in the fields of educational leadership, research, Indigenous leadership and early childhood and care.

Every year, recipients are welcomed into the ACEL network contributing to and supporting the dissemination of new learning and thought. New Voice Scholarships are awarded to educators recognised as forward-thinking, contextually relevant and responsive leaders by peers and the wider education community. Over 100 talented educators have been awarded these scholarships since the program was initiated in 2014.

The New Voice Perspectives provide an opportunity to explore and uncover new and diverse points of view as recipients respond to the question “if you had a magic wand, what would you do to improve student outcomes?”. This year’s reflections emphasise the importance of learning within and beyond the classroom, through encompassing culturally appropriate Indigenous practices into every day teaching, proactive involvement of students in the development of wellbeing programs, healthy and nurturing relationships with students, whilst also setting a provocation which challenges us to reconceptualise our models of learning, leading and teaching.

As the 2020 New Voice scholars share their voice and rich perspectives throughout these pages, we envisage it will stimulate further prompts for reflection, planning and action as we consider an educational environment in which anything is possible. Indeed, we have seen in the past 12 months that anything is possible. Those pivotal moments in time that gifted us with illuminating the opportunity and importance of thinking without constraint, inspired by a clarity of purpose in the pursuit of universal access and engagement for all students to achieve in all aspect of their lives.

Dr Barbara Watterston

The New Voice in School Leadership

Adam Inder
Deputy Principal,
Clarkson Community High School

Alex Wharton
Head of Middle School,
Carinya Christian School

Amy Byrnes
Deputy Principal - Academic,
St Patrick’s College Townsville

Brooke Sweeney
ST3 Assistant Principal,
Lajamanu School

Elspeth Stephenson
Lecturer in Education – Professional Learning,
University of Tasmania (UTAS)

Meredith O'Connor
Deputy Principal,
Queensland Children’s Hospital School’s (QCHS)

Nancy Bonfiglio-Pavisich
Leadership Consultant,
Catholic Education

Ray Swann
Deputy Headmaster: Head of the Crowther Centre,
Brighton Grammar School

The New Voice In Educational Leadership Research

Amanda Madden
Dean of Students,
Perth College

Louise Wilkinson
Heatley State Primary School

Meghan Stacey
School of Education, UNSW Sydney

Pauline Thompson
Lecturer, Educational Leadership,
The University of Melbourne

The New Indigenous Voice in Educational Leadership

Elinor Archer
Indigenous Contact Officer and Classroom teacher,
Dickson College

Tammy Baart
First Nations Engagement Leader,
Brisbane Broncos - Loganlea State High School

The New Voice in Early Education and Care

Sarah Louise Gandolfo
Associate (Professional Learning),
Semann & Slattery