A highlight of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders Tasmania Branch is the annual celebration and presentation of awards. ACEL TAS honours those educational leaders who in the view of their peers have made a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of educational leadership.

Congratulations to all awardees:

The Eminent Educator Award for Outstanding Leadership in Education in Tasmania

  • Ms Trudy Pearce, Deputy Secretary for Education, DoE Tas

ACEL TAS Fellowship

  • Ms Jenny Cowling, Principal at Sorell School

Honorary ACEL TAS Fellowship

  • Vice Chancellor Rufus Black, University of Tasmania

The Public Discourse Award

  • Mr Malcolm Elliott, President of the Australian Primary Principals Association

Excellence in Educational Leadership Award

  • Ms Mary Bennett Principal of Our Lady of Mercy Catholic School, Deloraine
  • Dr MaryAnn Hunter School of Education, UTAS
  • Ms Wendy Irvine Assistant Principal, Hobart College
  • Ms Dianne Purnell Principal, Elizabeth College
  • Ms Leesa Pettit, Assistant Principal, Jordan River Learning Federation
  • Caroline Wilson-Haffenden, Director, Junior School, St Mary’s College, Hobart
  • The Cosgrove High School leadership team – Andrew Woodham, David Bryant, Emma Aorangi
  • The East Derwent Primary School Leadership team - Elizabeth Humphries, David Webster, Nicole Wilson, Sophie Campbell, Libby Garlick, Rhea Orchard

Teacher Leadership Award

  • Ms Sue Cunningham, Dominic College, Glenorchy
  • Mrs Jane Hills, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Launceston
  • Mrs Emily Leaman, Franklin Primary School
  • Ms Marjorie Morgan, Hobart College
  • Mrs Elizabeth Radnidge, St James Catholic College, Cygnet
  • Mr Jeorge Wigan, St James Catholic College, Cygnet

Early Career Teacher Leadership Award

  • Joshua Lippis, Guilford Young College, Hobart
  • Dev Tiwari, Huonville High School

Click here to view the awards gallery.