To all our valued ACEL New South Wales Members,

Thank you to all members who nominated colleagues and peers for the NSW ACEL Annual Awards. I am pleased to announce the following outstanding educators who, after a rigorous nomination and section process, are our 2021 awardees.

ACEL NSW The Dr Paul Brock Memorial Medal

  • Professor Patrick Duignan - Emeritus Professor of Australian Catholic University
  • Professor Pasi Sahlberg - Professor of Education Policy and Research Director at the Gonski Institute for Education at UNSW

ACEL NSW Educational Research Award

  • Associate Professor Rachel Wilson - The University of Sydney
  • Associate Professor Scott Eacott – The University of New South Wales

ACEL NSW Media Award

  • Cameron Malcher- Coach, Advancement Via Individual Determination Australia

ACEL NSW Leadership Awards

  • Yates Avenue Public School Leadership Team
  • Jackie Staudinger - Director of KU Children’s Services Macquarie Fields
  • Bradley Swibel - Deputy Head of School at St Andrew’s Cathedral School
  • Phillip Pratt - Trinity Grammar School
  • Sue McIntyre - Educational Leader of ECTARC Clipper Road children’s Centre
  • Terry Martin - Careers Adviser at Port Hacking High School
  • The School Leadership Institute Team - NSW Department of Education
  • The Jarara Indigenous Education Unit - Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta
  • Prue Horan - Assistant Director, Education Services at Catholic Education, Diocese of Wagga Wagga

ACEL NSW Mary Armstrong Award for Early Career Teacher Leadership

  • Haneul Lee - English teacher at St Andrews Cathedral School
  • Olivia Phillips - Teacher at St Agnes Catholic High School

On behalf of the ACEL NSW Executive committee, a very warm congratulations to all awardees.

Unfortunately as a result of COVID-19 restrictions we cannot host our planned awards ceremony on Friday August 6. We have therefore organised a virtual ceremony on Monday October 11th at 5pm. We encourage all members and non-members to attend this virtual event and help us celebrate the achievements of our 2021 outstanding educators. Click here to register online.

Thank you,

Kylie Lipscombe
ACEL NSW Branch President