Each year ACEL ACT calls for nominations for the ACEL ACT Branch Awards. These awards honour those educational leaders, who in the view of their peers, have made a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of educational leadership. Indeed, in speaking with the award recipients last week, I got a real sense that it was this recognition of their peers that made the award so valuable to them.

It is my pleasure, then as ACEL ACT President to announce this year’s award recipients:

ACEL ACT Fellowship Award
This year’s recipient of the ACEL ACT Fellowship award is:

Joanne Garrisson
Senior Manager of Strategic Programs
Association of Independent Schools of the ACT

ACEL presents Fellowships to those, like Joanne, who have made outstanding educational leadership contributions to ACEL and/or whose work has influenced educational practice at a state and/or national level.

ACEL ACT Excellence in Educational Leadership Award
This year’s recipients of the ACEL ACT Excellence in Educational Leadership Award are:

Kirrally Talbot
Director of Curriculum, Executive Teacher
Gold Creek School

Jan Herold
Assistant Director Programs and Services,
Education Support Office – Service Design and Delivery
ACT Education Directorate

This award is presented to Kirrally and Jan for demonstrating excellent leadership in implementing an educational initiative and/or for conducting research which leads to improved educational outcomes for students.

ACEL ACT Trish Wilks Award for Collaborative Practice
This year’s recipient of the Trish Wilks Award for Collaborative Practice is:

The ACT Board of Senior Secondary Studies (BSSS)

The Trish Wilks award is awarded to the BSSS team, who in the spirit of collaboration has demonstrated:
Exemplary teaching practice
A significant contribution to the learning of others
Sustained and successful collaboration within a school or across schools
Evidence of the difference made by collaborative practice.

Thank you to all the nominators and nominees in this year’s awards. It was a small but competitive field, and all nominees deserve an honorary mention for their leadership efforts.

Due to the current restrictions in place in the ACT we will not be holding an ACEL ACT Awards Event this year, however the ACT Executive is coordinating several small events with the award recipients in honour of, and to recognise, their achievements.

Please take your time reach out to and congratulate our 2021 ACEL ACT Award recipients.

Thank you,

Kirk Zwangobani
ACEL ACT Branch President