NT Awards event report

On Thursday 14th April, the NT Branch of ACEL welcomed over 50 educational leaders and their guests to the inaugural NT ACEL Awards. The awards are held to celebrate the passionate, expert, influential and bold NT Leaders. The NT Branch Executive recognised the awardees for their efforts and impact on education across the Northern Territory, nationally and internationally.

ACEL NT Branch President Tony Roberts officially opened the ceremony, followed by ACEL CEO Aasha Murthy who expressed her thanks to the local branch executive and acknowledged the contributions of the outstanding educational leaders who were being recognised at the event.

The Hon. Peter Chandler MLA, Minister for Education presented the awardees with their certificates and expressed his thanks for their efforts on a daily basis in schools and institutions across the Northern Territory.

A large number of educators from across all sectors of education attended the event to support and acknowledge their peers and colleagues.

Our Leaders are our Inspiration.

ACEL NT Fellowship Award

Sandy Cartwright, Alawa Primary School
Sandy is an experienced Northern Territory Principal. Her life-long experiences are greatly reflected in her work. She is a passionate Principal who is committed to creating excellence for all students and works alongside her staff, staying abreast of current educational research and remaining connected to her students through a hands on teaching and learning focus within the classrooms of her school.

Early Career Teacher Leadership Award

Megan Norrington, Humpty Doo Primary School
Megan is an accomplished mentor for colleagues and beginning teachers. She works collaboratively in the Upper Primary Team and demonstrates an in-depth knowledge and expertise of curriculum content to plan, evaluate and modify teaching programs.

Leadership Award

Jo Glennon, Nightcliff Primary School
Jo models exemplary teaching, sharing expertise and building a whole of school culture of improved teaching practice and student learning. She is a leader who regularly carries out professional development session is moderation, data, writing and ICT. She creates an environment for successful curriculum innovations including e-write, online data and assessment management systems.

Debra Witte, Nightcliff Primary School
Debra’s leadership includes successful mentoring of neophyte teachers, pre-service teachers and colleagues. She shares teaching ideas, strategies, assessment and moderation tasks and works closely with transition and early years and has developed collaborative relationships with Charles Darwin University.

Inspiring Educator Award

Helen Cleanthous, Nightcliff Primary School
Helen is an effective mentor for her students, pre-service teachers and teaching colleagues. She engages in professional discussions that evaluate programs, teaching practices and student learning with a strong focus on improving learning outcomes for students.

Holly Yan, Milyakburra School
Holly is an enthusiastic assistant teacher who demonstrates care, patience and dedication to students. She inspires other Indigenous staff members to follow in her footsteps. Holly is a highly respected member of her local community and has built strong collaborative relationships between the school and community.

Tessa Browett, St Paul’s Catholic Primary School
Tessa is a collaborative teacher who is approachable and leads by example. She is actively involved in curriculum planning and has a special interest in in behavioral management. Tessa is widely respected by her peers, parents and students.

Vanessa Haw, Moil Primary School
Vanessa is the Assistant Principal at Moil Primary School and also supports the Northern Territory Principals Association president. Vanessa has established strong partnerships and has successfully developed networking agendas that focus on the system alignment, capacity building and the establishment of professional learning communities. Vanessa models the attributes of life-long learning and is open to feedback, she is known for her energized responses, creative thinking and ability to take positive action.

Congratulations to our 2016 NT Award Recipients. The awards were a timely showcase of Educational Leadership across the Northern Territory and highlighted the excellence in our profession.

Click here to download the PDF for the above
Click here to access index of Media Releases