NSW educational leader recognised with ACEL’s top award

The Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL) is proud to announce that the 2015 ACEL Gold Medal will be awarded to Dr. Michele Bruniges AM, Secretary of the NSW Department of Education.

The Gold Medal is the council’s most prestigious award and is presented to an Australian educator whose contribution to the study and practice of educational leadership is assessed as most outstanding at the national level. The medal recognises the special qualities and capabilities that are consistent with the guiding principles of the organisation.

Dr Michele Bruniges leads one of Australia’s largest state government departments and is responsible for all state public schools, providing education to more than 755,000 students in more than 2,200 schools. Previously, Dr Bruniges held senior roles in the Australian Government’s Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations and senior positions in the ACT and NSW Departments of Education and Training. Her qualifications include a PhD in Educational Measurement and a Masters in Education.

On being recognised with this award, Dr Michele Bruniges said “It is a great honour to receive the ACEL Gold medal award for 2015. To be recognised by your peers is very special. Education has been my life’s passion. It is the very best investment we can make in children and young people’s lives”.

Dr. Jim Watterston, President of ACEL and the Director General, Department of Education and Training, Queensland said, “Michele is one of Australia’s most influential and innovative educators. Her inspirational leadership and commitment to ensuring that public education positively changes and shapes lives makes her a worthy recipient of this prestigious award.”

Prof. Michael Gaffney, Professor of Education at University of Canberra will be awarded the Nganakarrawa Award for 2015. This award is presented annually to those whose general excellence in educational administration and whose learning, experience and contribution to the Council have earned lasting respect and gratitude. Dr. Scott Eacott, from the University of NSW, will receive the Hedley Beare Award for an outstanding piece of educational writing. The recipient of the 2015 Outstanding Teacher Award is Andrea Stringer, a passionate classroom teacher, who uses technology highly successfully as a platform for teaching and learning.

In addition to the four major awards, twenty educators from across all sectors of education are being conferred with ACEL National Fellowships.

The ACEL’ s National Awards Ceremony and President’s Reception will be held at the Hilton Sydney on the 1st October at 6 PM.

Click here to download the PDF for the above
Click here to access index of Media Releases