VIC Branch

A highlight of ACEL Victoria’s year!

Last week we had the privilege of honouring our 2018 award recipients, acknowledging their significant contributions to educational leadership in Victoria and beyond. The event was held at the Catholic Leadership Centre in East Melbourne, with fine musical entertainment provided pre-ceremony by The Treblemakers, the middle school string group from MacRobertson Girls’ High School. 

The formal presentation was introduced by Victorian Branch President Coralee Pratt. Coralee welcomed members and their guests, introduced Katrina MacDonald and Rebecca Wells, recipients of the 2018 New Voice Scholarships for School Leadership, and acknowledged other Victorian members who this year received national awards - Bruce Armstrong, Kim Dray and Geoff Ryan. 

Award recipients were delighted that our Victorian Branch patron, Dr Brian Caldwell was in attendance. Brian presented the Research Award newly named in his honour, to Professor Janet Clinton, noting his pleasure at being able to recognise Janet's body of work in this way. Georgia Dawson accepted the award on Janet's behalf due to her participation in an international conference. 

Annabel Astbury of ABC Education accepted the award for the Vic Media Award presented to her by branch executive member, Denis Masseni. Annabel was fresh off the plane from New York - it was very special to have her attend and accept her award personally.

12 ACEL Victoria Fellowships were awarded this year to the following members:

·  Peter Moore
·  Matthew Maruff
·  Denis Masseni
·  Gail Major
·  Frank Catalano
·  Sue Bell
·  Peter Corkill
·  James Alexiades
·  Josie Crisara
·  Helen Drennen
·  Debbie Dunwoody
·  Jane Wilkinson

Following the reading of citations by members of the awards commitee, recipients spoke with great passion about their commitment to education, acknowledging the critical role their families had played in supporting their careers. 

The Victorian Branch was also delighted that national ACEL President, Stephen Gniel, attended and presented the prestigious Hedley Beare Educator of the Year Award to Pitsa Binnion, current principal of MacKinnon Secondary College. Pitsa's address demonstrated her extraordinary contribution and generosity to the profession and was a truly fitting conclusion to the evening.
So again, congratulations to our fabulous award recipients.