In 2020 ACEL celebrates its impressive 35th year since the original inception where the first Gold Medal were originally awarded to Victoria’s Robert Fordham and Western Australia’s Edwin Harold. Since their inception, the ACEL national awards have grown in stature with educators being recognised for their contributions across several categories.. We also recognise media organisations/journalists/programs that contribute significantly to raising the profile of the education sector and make valuable contributions to the national conversation via “The ACEL National Media Award’.

Our National Awards honours educational leaders who have dedicated themselves to the improvement of student and educational outcomes.

View our ACEL national awards winners for 2020 below.

ACEL Gold Medal Award
Most Outstanding Contribution to the study and practice of educational administration and leadership.

Ann McIntyre

ACEL Keith Tronc Award for Outstanding Teacher Leadership
Outstanding practice in the classroom.

Martyn Anderson

ACEL Nganakarrawa Award
Excellence in educational administration.

Professor Yong Zhao

ACEL Fellowships
Outstanding contribution to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes.

Aine Maher
James Laussen
Meredith Edwards OAM
Michele McLoughlin
Murat Dizdar PSM
Tracey Ezard

ACEL Leadership Award
Excellent educational leadership in developing and implementing a significant educational initiative, conducting research or influencing educational policy.

Dr Marnee Shay
Peter Mader
Sharon Collins

ACEL Presidential Citation
Presented annually to an ACEL member who had, because of particular endeavours, made an outstanding contribution in furthering the Objects of the Council.

Dr Deborah Kember

ACEL National Media Award
Ongoing contribution and commitment to reporting in the arena of educational issues and their commitment to recognising and encouraging student and teacher voice on the critical issues affecting our schools across Australia.