THE POWER OF MAKING THINKING VISIBLE
with Ron Ritchhart


THREE PART WEBINAR SERIES OCT 2020

Over the last decade there has been in explosion of interest in how teachers can best build a culture of thinking in their classrooms, nurture students as powerful thinkers and learners, and make thinking visible. These goals are more important in times of disrupted learning than ever. Research is showing us that students’ ability to self -regulate, direct their learning, demonstrate agency, and engage metacognitively is critical to their successful adaptation as learners during this time. Through his research at Project Zero at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Dr. Ron Ritchhart have been a leader in advancing this important work. His best-selling books, Creating Cultures of Thinking and Making Thinking Visible, have done much to popularize the use of thinking routines in schools and museums around the world. His work has enhanced our understanding of the importance of school and classroom culture in nurturing powerful thinkers and learners.

In their new book, The Power of Making Thinking Visible, researchers Dr. Ron Ritchhart and Mark Church share their research into just what difference using making thinking visible practices makes for students and teachers and how teachers can plan to use these practices to maximum effect. When used powerfully, thinking routines not only provide teachers with a set of practices to engage students, but help advance a broader goal to create classrooms where students’ thinking is visible, valued, and actively promoted. This course will explore these ideas while engaging participants in some of the new routines presented in the book.

This series will explore the what, the why and the how of making thinking visible. Each session will focus on an exploration of key questions associated with each of these areas, providing teacher, leaders, and coaches with the background understanding needed to help transform their schools and classrooms. Each session will make reference to sections of the book, The Power of Making Thinking Visible. Participants may choose to read the associated chapters either as pre or follow-up reading. Handouts and related infographics will be shared to support the learning. Each session will include an opportunity to raise questions, which Ron will answer in a separate recorded response that participants may view any time after the formal webinar session.

POTENTIAL AUDIENCE:
Teachers grades K-12, University Instructors, Coaches, School Leaders, Museum Educators

Session 1: The What of Making Thinking Visible

  • What are the different ways teachers can make thinking visible?
  • How do these practices relate to and connect to each other?
  • What do these practices look like in action?
  • What does it mean for making thinking visible to be a goal of instruction?
  • What makes something a thinking routine and how do they work?

Session 2: The Why of Making Thinking Visible

  • What are the 6 powers of making thinking visible?
  • What do we look for when we talk about engagement?
  • What do we mean by deep learning?
  • How do students’ and teachers’ role change as we make thinking visible?
  • Yeah, but what about the tests?
  • How do we shift formative assessment from a task to a practice?
  • Who are our students becoming as thinkers and learners?
  • What does deep learning look like and entail?

Session 3: The How of Making Thinking Visible

  • How do we move beyond simply putting more tools in the hands of teachers?
  • How can we help teachers avoid the “just another activity” trap?
  • What can we learn from teachers who use thinking routines to maximum effect?
  • How can school leaders help teachers to plan with and learn from colleagues to help them use thinking routines to maximum effect?
  • How can school leaders help to grow and facilitate making thinking visible across my school, my department, or my team?

EACH WEBINAR WILL INCLUDE:

•  Live presentation from Ron Ritchhart
•  Webinar support team and on hand support
•  Copies of the presentation

ATTENDING THE WEBINAR

You will be emailed a personal link to each webinar the day prior to the event. It is advised that you attend the webinar 10 minutes before commencement to avoid missing any content.

If you have any questions please contact workshops@acel.org.au or call 02 8396 0800.

COST

1 Webinar
ACEL Member:
$100 p/p
Non-Member: $115 p/p

All 3 Webinars Bundle Deal
ACEL Member:
$270 p/p
Non-Member: $290 p/p

Combine and Save on Bundle Deal
$430 p/p

TIMES & REGISTRATION

Webinar 1:
Date:
Saturday 17th October 2020
Time: 9.00am AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
8.30am [South Australia]
8.00am [Queensland]
8.30am [Northern Territory]
6.00am [Western Australia]

International Times:
11.00am New Zealand
7.00am Japan
6.00am Hong Kong
6.00pm New York
3.00pm Los Angeles

REGISTER ONLINE

Webinar 2:
Date:
Saturday 24th October 2020
Time: 9.00am AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
8.30am [South Australia]
8.00am [Queensland]
7.30am [Northern Territory]
6.00am [Western Australia]

International Times:
11.00am New Zealand
7.00am Japan
6.00am Hong Kong
23rd Oct, 6.00pm New York
23rd Oct, 3.00pm Los Angeles

REGISTER ONLINE

Webinar 3:
Date:
Saturday 31st October 2020
Time: 9.00am AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
8.30am [South Australia]
8.00am [Queensland]
7.30am [Northern Territory]
6.00am [Western Australia]

International Times:
11.00am New Zealand
7.00am Japan
6.00am Hong Kong
6.00pm New York
3.00pm Los Angeles

REGISTER ONLINE