RIGOUR in the REMOTE LEARNING CLASSROOM
with Dr Barbara Blackburn


Dr Barbara Blackburn returns for a new webinar series which explore the question of how rigor can be applied to the remote learning classroom. As schools have shifted to alternative models of instruction throughout 2020, Barbara guides school leaders and teachers through a consistency-based approach, covering scaffolding, collaboration and effective assessments which ensures that the strong progress previously made in the face to face classroom is not lost but enhanced through a series of practical strategies and activities.


"Rigor is creating an environment in which each student is expected to learn at high levels, and each is supported so he or she can learn at high level, and each student demonstrates learning at high level."

Dr Barbara Blackburn

The Australian Council for Educational Leaders in collaboration with Dr Barbara Blackburn present our latest collaborative webinar series “Rigor in the Remote Learning Classroom”. Presented across three stand-alone webinars available for individual or series registration, this webinar series complements her popular sessions from 2019 and earlier in 2020.

Learn how to maintain and enhance instructional rigor through a remote learning lens so that all students can reach higher levels of learning!

Appropriate for teachers of all grade levels and subject areas.

Rigour in the Remote Learning Classroom is designed to enhance the student experience of remote learning and set you and your students on the fast track to higher learning and sustained success.



“Absolutely fabulous! Rigor in the Remote Classroom Learning Classroom is a comprehensive K-12 “how to” treasure trove of strategies, resources, grade-level models, samples and more! It purposefully address the demands and intricacies of educating our students to their fullest potential through - the now needed - online remote learning. In this book, Barbara Blackburn has done the research and vetting for us. Thanks you Barbara! After reading, I know teachers will feel better equipped and confident using remote learning as they strengthen and enhance their planning, preparation, delivery, and assessment of students’ learning of standards and skills through individual and collaborative means.”

PARTICIPANTS WILL LEARN:

What rigour looks like in the remote classroom,
How rigourous expectations apply in the remote classroom,
Rigorous instructional activities that can be used in the remote learning classroom,
Specific remote learning scaffolding activities that support rigourous expectations,
Rigourous assessment options for remote learning,
Parent and family collaboration and support options in a remote learning setting.


EACH WEBINAR WILL INCLUDE:

•  Live presentation from Dr Barbara Blackburn
•  Inclusive of Q&A allotted time
•  Webinar support team and on hand support
•  Follow up Webinar Personal PD Packets
•  Follow-Up Reading materials
•  A comprehensive handout package


Webinar 1: Wednesday 14th October 2020
Rigour in the Remote Learning Classroom: What and Why?

Do you want to increase the rigour of your remote learning classrooms? That is a critical issue in today’s environment, and one we can address. We’ll look at the foundational elements of rigourous remote learning, as well as beginning steps for adjusting instruction.

Webinar 2: Wednesday 21st October 2020
Rigour in the Remote Learning Classroom: Instructional and Scaffolding Strategies

How do we increase remote rigourous instruction? Do we need to start over or can we adapt current instructional strategies for a remote setting? When students are struggling, how do we provide appropriate scaffolding when we are not physically in the same location? We’ll look at specific strategies to address these issues.

Webinar 3: Wednesday 28th October 2020
Rigour in the Remote Learning Classroom: Assessment and Parental Involvement
The ultimate result of rigourous learning is demonstration of understanding, or assessment. In this session, we’ll look at sample formative assessments, as well as summative assessments including those that are traditional and performance-based that can be used in remote settings. We’ll conclude our series with tips for family and parental involvement.

Sessions are geared toward proficient teachers and lead teachers and are interactive. As we have done in the past, all sessions will include a comprehensive handout with resources, as well as a follow-up packet of sample professional development sessions leaders can use with their teachers.

ATTENDING THE WEBINAR

All webinars come with 1800 support line assistance, feature audience Q&A sessions, and individual program handouts and follow-up packs.

You will be emailed a personal link to each webinar the day prior to the event. It is advised that you attend the webinar 10 minutes before commencement to avoid missing any content.

If you experience any technical issues before or during the webinar please call Redback Support on 1800 733 416 for assistance.

COST

1 Webinar
ACEL Member:
$95 p/p
Non-Member: $105 p/p

All 3 Webinars Bundle Deal
ACEL Member:
$250 p/p
Non-Member: $280 p/p

Combine and Save on Bundle Deal
$410 p/p

TIMES & REGISTRATION

Webinar 1:
Date:
Wednesday 14th October 2020
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
7.00pm [Queensland]
6.30pm [Northern Territory]
5.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
6.00pm Japan
5.00pm Hong Kong
5.00am New York
2.00am Los Angeles

REGISTER ONLINE

Webinar 2:
Date:
Wednesday 21st October 2020
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
7.00pm [Queensland]
6.30pm [Northern Territory]
5.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
6.00pm Japan
5.00pm Hong Kong
5.00am New York
2.00am Los Angeles

REGISTER ONLINE

Webinar 3:
Date:
Wednesday 28th October 2020
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
7.00pm [Queensland]
6.30pm [Northern Territory]
5.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
6.00pm Japan
5.00pm Hong Kong
5.00am New York
2.00am Los Angeles

REGISTER ONLINE