LET THE CHILDREN PLAY
with Pasi Sahlberg


THREE PART WEBINAR SERIES AUG 2020

Around the world children spend less time playing and physical outdoor activities than before. Yet, research and advice from paediatricians suggest that play is a critical part of children’s growing up and healthy emotional and social development. Simple as it sounds, letting children play more seems to be hard to put in practice in schools and at home.

This three-episode webinar series provides principals, teachers and parents with closer look at what is the state of play today in our societies, why play makes a difference in children’s wellbeing and learning, and how can we make most of playtime in school and at home.

In these webinars you will:

  • Learn about common trends in children’s play in Australia and abroad
  • Explore factors that enable more and better learning and those that cause declining time to play
  • Hear about case studies of play from other countries
  • Get an introduction to education in Finland and the role of play there
  • Identify essential elements of higher quality play
  • Take away practical examples how to increase time and impact of play in and out of school.

Download Article Extract from "Let the Children Play” – The Long Island Play Revolution


PART 1: THE STATE OF PLAY

  • What do we know about children’s play today?
  • Why we need to talk about the importance of play?
  • Who are the real advocates of children’s play?
  • Where are interesting things happening today in play?

PART 2: THE POWER OF PLAY

  • What is play?
  • Why is play important to children?
  • What are doctors’ telling us about play?
  • How to tell the story to those in doubt?

PART 3: LEARNING THROUGH PLAY

  • What are the essential elements of deep play?
  • When does learning through play succeed?
  • Why people talk about Finnish schools?
  • What can we do?

WHY ENROLL IN THE LET THE CHILDREN PLAY WEBINAR?

Learning more about play as an important part of every child’s learning and life;
Improving communication and conversations about the importance of play;
Developing new approaches in school leadership to enhance children’s wellbeing and learning;
Assessing own perceptions and practices regarding children’s play in and out of school;
Expanding conceptual understanding of learning through play;
Sharing experiences with colleagues and learn from them.


EACH WEBINAR WILL INCLUDE:

•  Live presentation from Pasi Sahlberg
•  Inclusive of Q&A allotted time
•  Webinar support team and on hand support
•  Pre-Webinar Readings and Activities
•  Follow up Webinar Personal PD Packets
•  Follow-Up Reading materials
•  Copies of the presentation

ATTENDING THE WEBINAR

All webinars come with 1800 support line assistance, feature audience Q&A sessions, and individual program handouts and follow-up packs.

You will be emailed a personal link to each webinar the day prior to the event. It is advised that you attend the webinar 10 minutes before commencement to avoid missing any content.

If you experience any technical issues before or during the webinar please call Redback Support on 1800 733 416 for assistance.

COST

1 Webinar
ACEL Member:
$100 p/p
Non-Member: $115 p/p

All 3 Webinars Bundle Deal
ACEL Member:
$270 p/p
Non-Member: $290 p/p

Combine and Save on Bundle Deal
$400 p/p

TIMES & REGISTRATION

Webinar 1:
Date:
Thursday 6th August 2020
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
8.00pm [Queensland]
7.30pm [Northern Territory]
6.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
7.00pm Japan
6.00pm Hong Kong
6.00am New York
3.00am Los Angelos

ACCESS WEBINAR

Webinar 2:
Date:
Thursday 13th August 2020
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
8.00pm [Queensland]
7.30pm [Northern Territory]
6.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
7.00pm Japan
6.00pm Hong Kong
6.00am New York
3.00am Los Angelos

REGISTER ONLINE

Webinar 3:
Date:
Thursday 20th August 2020
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
8.00pm [Queensland]
7.30pm [Northern Territory]
6.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
7.00pm Japan
6.00pm Hong Kong
6.00am New York
3.00am Los Angelos

REGISTER ONLINE