Rigor and Differentiation in the Classroom

 

Clip from “Rigorous Assessments Webinar Series held Nov 2018”


"Rigor is creating an environment in which each student is expected to learn at high levels. And each is supported so he or she can learn at high levels, and each student demonstrates learning at high levels."

Dr Barbara Blackburn

Following from the recent webinars “Rigor Define & Embrace” & “Rigorous Assessments” comes the third in the highly acclaimed series with “Rigor & Differentiation in the Classroom” presented March 2019. Three stand-alone webinars will be presented over three weeks personally presented by Dr Blackburn. Learn how to effectively understand and implement rigor & differentiation in a practical, concise and interactive format.

Are you wondering about rigor? For many educators, it is a negative term that means "harder" or "Double the work". Barbara's internationally recognised, practical, teacher-friendly concept of instructional rigor includes high expectations, scaffolding for instruction and demonstration of learning.

Learn how to differentiate instruction while maintaining a rigorous learning environment. In this practical book, rigor expert Barbara R. Blackburn shows that the differentiated classroom doesn’t mean extra work for top students and easy work for others; instead, you can have high expectations for all students and provide scaffolding so that everyone can reach success. She also addresses many of the greatest concerns teachers have about implementing differentiated instruction, including:

  • How to manage your time so that you can create lessons, find resources, and grade assignments for students working at different levels.
  • How to balance differentiated instruction and teaching standards;
  • How to ensure rigor at all tiers of instruction;
  • How to collaborate with teachers and other faculty members;
  • How to differentiate homework and other out-of-class assignments;
  • How to explain differentiated instruction to parents and families
  • And more

Click here to read Barbara Blackburn's articles, resources and solutions.


Webinar 1: Thursday 7th March 2019
How Do Differentiation & Rigor Relate to Each Other?
•   Introduction to  the Basics of Differentiation
•   Introduction to the Basics of Rigor
•   How Differentiation and Rigor Work Together
•   The Foundation of Rigorous Differentiation:  Creating Learning Portraits

Webinar 2:Thursday 14th March 2019
How Do I Ensure Rigor Through Differentiated Activities?
•   Differentiation for All Students
•   Differentiating for Struggling Students Without Sacrificing Rigor
•   Differentiating for Advanced Learners by Using Rigor to Stretch Them

Webinar 3: Thursday 21st March 2019
How Can I Manage My Rigorous Differentiated Classroom?
•   How Do I Find the Resources I Need?
•   How Do I Use Routines to Enhance My Instruction?
•   How Do I Manage My Time?
•   How Do I Communicate with Parents and Families??

Webinars are presented live directly to your desktop, laptop or multi-media device in succinct and interactive formats and feature: 

  • Personal presentation by Dr Blackburn
  • Interactive Audience Q&A Sessions
  • Pre-Webinar Implantation Worksheets & Information Handouts prepared personally by Dr Blackburn
  • Full Copy of Slides and Presentation Used in the Webinar
  • Detailed Follow Up Information, Resources and Worksheets Pack
  • Live Audience Polls
  • Online Technical Support
  • Dr Barbara Blackburn Exclusive Book Discounts
  • Exclusive Registrant Bundle Offer for Best Selling Book “Rigor & Differentiation in the Classroom” Save $30.00
  • Optional Individual Follow-Up Sessions with Dr Blackburn
  • Follow Up Viewing of Webinar post live date

"This very practical guide models what it advocates. It is rooted in clear and worthy learning goals for readers. It guides teachers in exploring, understanding, and applying those goals, and it provides plenty of scaffolding for teachers at varied entry points in thinking about differentiation, rigor, and the relationship between the two. Its hallmark is its approachable, user-friendly tone and language. It’s a teacher talking to other teachers!"

Carol Ann Tomlinson, William Clay Parrish, Jr. Professor & Chair of Educational Leadership, Foundations, and Policy, Curry School of Education, University of Virginia

ATTENDING THE WEBINAR

All webinars come with 1800 support line assistance, feature audience Q&A sessions, and individual program handouts and follow-up packs.

You will be emailed a personal link to each webinar the day prior to the event. It is advised that you attend the webinar 10 minutes before commencement to avoid missing any content.

If you experience any technical issues before or during the webinar please call Redback Support on 1800 733 416 for assistance.

COST

1 Webinar
ACEL Member:
$92 p/p
Non-Member: $100 p/p

All 3 Webinars Bundle Deal
ACEL Member:
$250 p/p
Non-Member: $280 p/p

TIMES & REGISTRATION

Webinar 1:
Date:
Thursday March 7th 2019
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
7.00pm [Queensland]
6.30pm [Northern Territory]
5.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
6.00pm Japan
5.00pm Hong Kong
4.00am New York
1.00am Los Angelos

Click here to access the webinar

Webinar 2:
Date:
Thursday March 14th 2019
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
7.00pm [Queensland]
6.30pm [Northern Territory]
5.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
6.00pm Japan
5.00pm Hong Kong
5.00am New York
2.00am Los Angelos

Click here to access the webinar

Webinar 3:
Date:
Thursday March 21st 2019
Time: 8.00pm AEST [NSW, VIC, ACT]
7.30pm [South Australia]
7.00pm [Queensland]
6.30pm [Northern Territory]
5.00pm [Western Australia]

International Times:
10.00pm New Zealand
6.00pm Japan
5.00pm Hong Kong
5.00am New York
2.00am Los Angelos

Click here to register online

All 3 Webinars
Click here
to register online