ACEL NSW Awards Ceremony

On Friday July 24th, the NSW Branch of ACEL proudly welcomed over 85 educational leaders and their guests from across the region for an evening of celebration and recognition.

The ACEL NSW Branch Executive, along with those in attendance, honoured and acknowledged the contributions to the education profession from the award winners.

“Educational Leaders are deeply aware of their role in ensuring that all young people are able to realise their dreams and contribute to the wellbeing of the democratic and peaceful society we enjoy and seek to preserve for our future. ACEL acknowledges and celebrates the achievements of individuals who have made an extra contribution to education” said Ann McIntyre, ACEL NSW President, who presented the awards on the evening.

Elizabeth Macgregor, Director of Museum of Contemporary Art, was the first to be awarded a prestigious NSW Honorary Fellowship without a traditional education background Elizabeth comments: “I was deeply honoured to be made a NSW Honorary Fellow of ACEL. Education is at the heart of the MCA and I am passionate about the value of creative education in particular. Being recognised for our work by professional educators is especially gratifying.”

Justine Ferrari, Director of External and Strategic Relations, Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards NSW received ACEL’s Media Award. “I’m honoured to receive ACEL’s media award. The past decade covering education issues for The Australian were the most rewarding of my career, and to be recognised by the education community for my work is very gratifying. “ said Justine.

The ACEL NSW Branch thank all those in attendance for their participation and for coming together to create such an exceptional evening of celebration, networking, discussion and conviviality. 

  • Liliana Mularczyk Patrick Duignan Award
  • Stefanie Lia Mary Armstrong Award
  • Justine Ferrari Media Award
  • Norman McCulla NSW ACEL Fellowship
  • Joanne Jarvis NSW ACEL Fellowship
  • Norma Petrocco NSW ACEL Fellowship
  • Elizabeth Ann Macgregor NSW ACEL Honorary Fellowship
  • Kim Chapman Leadership Award
  • Melissa Carson Leadership Award
  • Matthew Esterman Leadership Award
  • Kathy Freeman Leadership Award
  • Maree Gentili Leadership Award
  • Brian Hickey Leadership Award
  • Phil Hogg Leadership Award
  • Andrew Rankin Leadership Award
  • Graeme Ross Leadership Award
  • Marion Shields Leadership Award
  • Sally Smithard Leadership Award
  • Adam Taylor Leadership Award
  • Stacey Quince Leadership Award
  • Dean White Leadership Award
  • SVA Powerhouse Schools Leadership Award

Click here to view photos from the night.

Click here to download the PDF for the above
Click here to access index of Media Releases