A highlight of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders Victoria Branch is the annual celebration and presentation of awards. ACEL VIC honours those educational leaders who in the view of their peers have made a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of educational leadership.

To assist in this process, we urge all ACEL VIC members to consider nominating worthy candidates for recognition of their leadership and service to education. The award nomination process is confidential until completed, and nominations have been approved. The ACEL VIC Awards committee will evaluate nominations with respect to the essential criteria.

The ACEL VIC awards committee will contact successful nominees on the completion of the process. In all cases the Committee Convenor will also contact all nominators in relation to the outcome of their nomination. Nominators seeking further information or assistance should contact the ACEL National Office at branch@acel.org.au to obtain contact details for the VIC Committee Convenor.

Nominations must be received by Monday 3rd August 2020


Fellowship awards
ACEL presents Fellowships to those who have made outstanding educational leadership contributions to ACEL and/or whose work has influenced educational practice at a state and/or national level.

Nominees for ACEL VIC Fellowships must be members of ACEL with at least five years standing, or if retired, must have been a member of at least five years standing at the time of retirement. (Please note, however, that the Committee may waive this condition and accept a shorter period of membership in the light of special circumstances or other evidence provided.)

Any member of ACEL in the field of educational leadership or education may be nominated for an ACEL VIC Fellowship. Nominees are also expected to have made an active contribution to ACEL. Members receiving fellowships are permitted to use the post nominal FACEL (VIC).

Evidence needs to be mapped against the following criteria.

1.) Australian Professional Standard for Principals:

  • Leading teaching and learning
  • Developing self and others
  • Leading improvement, innovation and change
  • Leading the management of an organisation
  • Engaging and working with the educational, wider community and/ or profession

The ACEL VIC Hedley Beare Educator of the Year Award
This award is to an outstanding ACEL member who upholds and contributes to the aims and objectives of ACEL, promotes ACEL activities and excels as a leader within an educational setting.

The ACEL VIC Brian Caldwell Research Award
This award is presented to a teacher, principal or academic who has made a research contribution during 2020 in the area of educational leadership.

The ACEL VIC Media Award
This award is presented to a journalist from the print, radio, online or television media who has made an outstanding contribution to raising the level of public awareness and the quality of debate on significant national issues, including education.

Fill out my online form.