TAS Branch President - Tameika Grist

Simon Angus Catherine Apanah Louise Bender
Jenny Cowling Thomas Dorey Malcolm Elliot
Lucy Fisher Jacqui Lawless David Moltow
Eamonn Pollard

Tameika Grist

ACEL TAS Branch President

Tameika Grist is an experienced and committed educator currently serving the community of learners at St Mary's College, Hobart as Director of Pedagogy. She has been a passionate teacher and leader in Primary and Secondary settings within the Department, Independent and Catholic sectors in Tasmania for the past 20 years.

Tameika is always keen to question and understand the influences on students' learning, and as such has always sought ways to improve her own practice, seeking opportunities in professional learning, study and collaboration with teachers and leaders.

Tameika's current passions include: leading professional learning communities, developing teachers and leaders, and harnessing teacher efficacy in driving learning outcomes for students.

Simon Angus

Branch Executive Member

Once a keen Physics teacher, Simon now finds fulfillment in leading Middle Schools to best respond to the social and emotional needs of early adolescent boys. In his current position Simon has created the ‘Middle School Research Forum’; a regular gathering of school educators who research and discuss ideas that lead to the implementation of new Middle School programs. Most recently the group has been researching and discussing designs for a new building that will incorporate Year 6s into the existing Middle School.

Simon believes that the key to successful educational leadership is finding others’ strengths and empowering them to meaningfully contribute to development of new school programs.

Simon has previously led the implementation of an International Baccalaureate program at a Chinese International School and held a pastoral leadership position at Melbourne Grammar School. Since 2016 he has been leading the Middle School at The Hutchins School, working with a wonderful team of passionate educators.

Catherine Apanah

Branch Executive Member

Cath Apanah is a passionate educator who believes in the transformative power of education and works to build the capacity of staff and students to achieve beyond what they believed might be possible. She is an advocate of public education and has worked in both urban and rural settings across both Western Australia, the UK and Tasmania. She is currently an A/Assistant Principal at Montrose Bay High School in Hobart where she leads the Senior School. Cath has been a recipient of an ACEL New Voice Scholarship and was listed as one of The Educator’s Rising Stars of 2016. She is excited about the opportunity of connecting and engaging with other educators through the ACEL network.

Jenny Cowling

Branch Executive Member

Jenny Cowling is an experienced educator who has worked for the Tasmanian Department of Education for 33 years. She worked as a classroom teacher, support teacher and the state wide Autism Consultant before moving into the principal role. Jenny was a primary school principal for 17 years before being appointed to the role of Principal Network Leader in 2014. She is passionate about equity and improving student learning outcomes. Jenny is a strong advocate of social justice and the belief that all students can learn and flourish, regardless of their postcode. In her current role she works collaboratively with principals, building leadership capacity, to improve student outcomes.

Tom Dorey - B.Leg.S (Macq.), M.A. (Syd.), M.Ed.Admin. (UNSW), M.Ed.Sys.L. (ACU), FACEL(Tas.), AFAIM, MAHRI.

Branch Executive Member

Tom is an experienced educator with a diverse background in teaching and leadership roles in NSW and Tasmania across all sectors of education. He is currently the Executive Officer – Directorate and Governing Councils – with the Tasmanian Catholic Education Office. Prior to this he was Principal of St Mary’s College, Hobart, for ten years. He has held executive positions at State and National level for Principal groups, the Alliance of Girls Schools and for the Nagle Education Alliance of Presentation Schools. In NSW he had a lengthy association with the Board of Studies which included syllabus development in both Ancient History and Legal Studies, Senior Examiner roles in each subject, and Chief Judge for HSC Legal Studies. He is a strong advocate for equity of access to educational opportunities for young people and has an abiding interest in Education Law as well as in Elizabethan History.

Malcolm Elliott

Branch Executive Member

Malcolm Elliott is President of the Tasmanian Principals Association whose membership is drawn from principals and assistant principals of state schools. His work in this role ranges from Initial Teacher Education to support and celebration of principals retiring from the profession.

Malcolm began his teaching career in 1983 at Lilydale, in the north of the state, before moving to Prospect High School. He was a senior curriculum officer (literacy) before taking up a senior position at Cosgrove High School. He moved to Claremont High School as Assistant Principal in 1995 before becoming Principal there in 1997.

Malcolm was nominated by his colleagues to the position of Coordinating Principal in the Glenorchy Cluster from 2004 – 2007 before taking on the role of Principal of New Norfolk High School from 2007 to 2014.

His policy interest is in social and economic development through equity-based approaches to school education.

Malcolm’s classroom interest is in practical, formative, self-actualising approaches to student learning.

His leadership interests lie in the areas of leadership development, differentiated professional learning, and recognition of life-load and life-flow as impactors on professional health and wellbeing.

Lucy Fisher - B.A, Dip Ed, M.Ed, FACEL (Hon)

Branch Executive Member

Lucy, an experience educator, has worked as classroom teacher, principal and systems leader. She is Training Associate for Cognitive Coaching and Professional Learning Communities.

Lucy facilitates workshops nationally and internationally and also coaches leaders on a one to one basis within the Catholic, Independent and Government sectors. She specialises in building leadership capacity and developing cultures that support professional conversations.

Dr David Moltow

Branch Executive Member

David is Course Coordinator of the Master of Teaching Degree at the University of Tasmania, and Director of Student Engagement in the Faculty of Education. He lectures in education law, philosophy and ethics, and is currently engaged in research projects in conjunction with a range of stakeholders involving intellectual engagement, student re-engagement, literacy, technology in education, and learning space design.

Eamonn Pollard

Branch Executive Member

Eamonn Pollard is Principal of MacKillop Catholic College in Hobart.  Prior to that he served in the role of Deputy Principal at Sacred Heart College, New Town.  Eamonn has held a series of roles at Guilford Young College before going to Sacred Heart.  He is very interested in instructional leadership and the place of spirituality in becoming fully human. Eamonn has been Long time roles in cross-sectorial human rights groups and conferences.  Enjoys teaching Religious Education, Philosophy and History.