ACT Branch President - Michele McLoughlin

Wendy Cave Nicole Jaggers Tom Kobal
George Palavestra Angus Tulley Peter Usher
Kirk Zwangobani

Michele McLoughlin

ACEL ACT Branch President

Michele McLoughlin BA (Hons, History); DipEd, Macquarie University; Grad Dip History/Anthropology, Australian National University; Grad Dip Information Systems, University of Canberra. Awarded the Leanne Harvey Ford Award for excellence in ‘The services for young people, specialisation within the Librarianship courses’, University of Canberra; ACEL ACT Certificate of Excellence for ‘Excellence in Educational Leadership’. Michele is currently Deputy Principal and International Baccalaureate (IB) Middle Years Programme (MYP) Coordinator at Telopea Park School, Lycée Franco-Australien de Canberra.

Michele has worked as a secondary teacher leader in New South Wales Government Schools (regional and Western Sydney) and since 1998 in ACT Secondary Government Schools. Michele is passionate about education and how it changes lives. Michele believes in the importance of the school community and the school community’s role in engendering a sense of belonging, and a place where everyone is valued.

Michele has been a long-standing member of ACEL ACT. As a member of ACEL ACT Michele has worked collaboratively with ACT Government, Catholic and Independent teachers and leaders. Michele is the past Chair of the ACT/NSW MYP Coordinators Group. In her roles working for ACEL and the IB Michele has recognised the importance of national and international dialogue and communication. Michele looks forward to bringing the voices of teacher leaders to ACEL National.

Wendy Cave

Branch Executive Member

Wendy Cave is a Principal with extensive experience in leading inquiring organisations to support next practice. With a strong connection to the University of Canberra, she has initiated models of site based initial teacher education involving the design and co delivery of programs by academic staff and practicing teachers. Wendy provides leadership at national and system levels in literacy practice, curriculum development and teacher quality. She is a member of ACARA’s General Capabilities Advisory Committee and the Australian Literacy Educators Association, and is the ACT Convenor of the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth (ARACY). In 2015 her educational leadership was recognised through the award of Honorary Fellowship by the Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL).

Nicole Jaggers

Branch Executive Member

Nicole Jaggers is an experienced educator, having worked across the independent and catholic education systems in the ACT and Western Australia for the past 20 years. She has commenced a new leadership position with the Department of Education in 2015, as an Executive Teacher at Miles Franklin Primary School. Her drive for lifelong learning has led to her obtaining a variety of qualifications, including a Master of Education (Educational Leadership), Graduate Certificate (International Baccalaureate) and Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood/Primary).

In 2013, Nicole was recognised for excellence in Educational Leadership by ACEL’s ACT branch, being awarded a Certificate of Excellence. The award citation recognised Nicole’s work in embedding Australian Curriculum both within her school and the ACT network.

Nicole has a passion for developing and leading professional development for teachers. Through her volunteer work as a consultant for the International Baccalaureate, she assists local, national and international IB schools in using data driven curriculum planning to develop student centred learning engagements, with a particular focus on teaching through an inquiry mindset.

Angus Tulley - BSc Grad Dip Ed, Grad Dip RE, M Ed Admin

Branch Executive Member

Angus has had over 35 years working in Catholic secondary schools and has been principal of Saint Francis Xavier College for the last 15 years.

He is currently President of the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn Principals’ Association, Principal of ANU Extension and is on the Board of Senior Secondary Studies in the ACT.

Angus is an ACEL ACT and National Fellow.

He has a particular interest in government, Catholic and independent schools working together and sees his involvement in ACEL as a means of working towards this goal.

Peter Usher - DipT, BEd

Branch Executive Member

Peter is a teacher leader who is passionate about improving the life chances of students directly, and through empowering others using collaborative approaches.

He has considerable experience in a range of contexts and roles, and is currently teaching at Telopea Park School ACT, which is a Binational French and Australian School. He moved to the ACT from the NT where he has worked as a curriculum officer, teaching team leader and deputy principal in urban schools and with remote Indigenous students over the past 20 years. He believes in the power of using evidence based pedagogical approaches and has a great love for STEM subjects as well as building reconciliation through understandings of Indigenous perspectives.

Peter strives to improve the quality and efficiency of practices through a solution focused and targeted approach. He enjoys working with the many diverse people of our population and values using a differentiated approach as a part of embedding inclusive practices.

Kirk Zwangobani

Branch Executive Member

Dr Kirk Zwangobani is an Executive Teacher at Dickson College in Canberra, and early career researcher. Over his teaching career he has held significant roles in school leadership in several Canberra public  schools. Kirk has also developed policy and projects within the ACT Education Directorate, with a particular focus on student engagement and voice.

Kirk’s research explores how we can use the intersection of social, cultural, and education theory and practice to better understand young people’s educational and life experiences. His research activities include collecting and analysing ‘small data’, presenting conference papers/seminars, facilitating workshops, and publishing. Based on his research on diversity and multiculture, Kirk has also consulted with not for profit research companies, local government and Commonwealth Education.

Kirk was a 2016 ACEL New Voice Scholar in Education Leadership research, and is a new member to the ACT Executive.